The Footprints of Funny Feet: Chapter 5 Scars, Staples and Saws

In this chapter, my readers may require a strong stomach because this chapter discusses the many surgeries I have had within my lifetime. I will talk about what each scar meant to me than and what the same scars mean to me now.  Now because I had an illness such as cerebral palsy, it would require me to go under the knife a number of times to correct my otherwise unusual bone structure. There are number of surgeries that I do not remember simply because I was too small to recall. As I was growing up my parents thought it best to make the majority of the decisions regarding my physical well-being.

hip-xray

They wanted to get the surgeries of mine out of the way before I would have a chance to remember them. It was a smart idea at the time, it just never worked. I would have to endure the pain of doctors cutting my flesh and sawing the bone, it was torture as I grew up. The constant reminder of having surgeries were always left on my body in the form of scars that you couldn’t erase with a chalkboard brush. I’ve had so many operations over the past 20 years that the images of the scars left on my body  would affect me in an emotional way. However through experience comes wisdom and with wisdom, endurance.  No longer do I feel the pain and torture that my body had to endure as a youngster. At age 9 I would go under the knife for the first time but it sure wouldn’t be the last.

 

RU-Scars
I had to have the courage of a lion.

At age 9 the operation I went through with involved surgeons breaking my hips and separating bone from skin they did their best to realign my skeletal structure to represent that of a normal boy. At age 10 my hamstrings were cut and pulled like an elastic band, they were stretched beyond their breaking point. The surgery was said to add length to my shortened limbs, it was also a safe way for them to perform surgery without having to break my kneecaps. At age 13, I would again have my hips broken but this time they were divided by steel frame in the form of a body cast. At age 18 the doctors would decide to break the bones in my feet bone by bone and straighten my movement. At age 22 my hips would again receive attention. They would become more scared than they already were. But this time the doctors decided to make me half bionic. After breaking my hips and ankles they decided the best way to keep the bone structure from moving about is to reinforce my bones with steel plates both in the hips and in the ankles. This was by far the most painful surgery that I have ever had to endure, I been through some real painful surgeries in the past but the pain from this surgery outweigh them all. I didn’t know it at the time but a week after my surgery I would be up and walking.

Surgery

I’ve had many more surgeries that  I just simply cannot remember… The only reason I know the existing be is because I’ve witnessed the scars on my body as an example of the wars I went through on the operating table. An example of the damage the staples and the saws left their imprint on me permanently.  I know your readers out there that will ask me a question. With all the surgeries that have had how come none has helped you walk better? mirror

 

The truth is, all the surgeries I went through work to 100% of the time. The only problem was when it came to physical therapy, they were far too many patients and not enough therapists to help me perform the physical therapy. Each time I went through surgery this became a major issue as to why I wouldn’t be able to walk much better than the last time. I will remind my readers that even though physical therapy was never the best because it was run by the provincial government I did make small improvements on my own however I didn’t make the kind of improvements that my parents would ultimately love to see.

 

 

Leave a Reply

