What’s On Your Grocery List? Raven’s Can Still Fly

What’s On Your Grocery List?

Remember That Raven’s Can Still Fly Project Bible 365 Day (20) 

 

When one person or six people grow up in an very authentic Italian family, one complete with the family members gaining a master’s degree in talking with your hands There are three things that make Italians authentic. The three items are food, family and faith and yes in that order. At least from my  perspective that is how it has been for many years.

Italian’s in general love to make food, they love to bake food and most of all they love to eat food. Family is also a very important part of the Italian culture and faith, well faith in the Italian family gets introduced in the beginning through infant baptism.download As the years progress though, the child in question referring to myself of course is left to make his own decision and where he stands on the basis of faith. Today I want to address the three items that are so crucial in our culture. Again those three items are, food, family and faith.    Food, let’s talk food shall we.

pasta

 

I’m going to let everyone on the internet in on a little known Italian secret. Italians hate to cook…… For themselves…… However we as Italians love to cook for people. For our people, our culture and lifestyle it’s a rewarding time to cook for others. Some of you may be now scratching your heads wondering why that is, the answer is simple. We don’t like to eat alone. Now as the second oldest in a family of six, I recently moved out on my own. For a while the thought of moving on my own was scary. As the days turn into weeks and weeks turn into months the idea of living on my own gets a little less scary. For the first few weeks though it was a challenge. I was ill constantly, I barely ate one meal a day.

Needless to say for the few weeks. I shed a  lot of tears and I had a lot of questions for God. Mostly the questions were “why is this happening to me. I was constantly hungry but I didn’t ever know how to make big meals. I know you’re all thinking… Are you sure you’re Italian? The answer is yes however there is one other reason s why I didn’t know how to make big meals. In September of 2011. I was rushed to emerge after eating a bowl of pasta. I often ate a lot of pasta in college because it was cheap. I would say for about six to eight months, I would have pasta four times a week. I gained what the medical experts call wheat belly or gluten intolerance. That’s when Jennifer came to my rescue… Who’s Jennifer exactly?   An Italian who loves cooking for others as much as I do. That’s who…

Jennifer Esposito  may be a well known film and television star but she is also very public about her battle with Celiac disease. Whaceliac-diseaset is Celiac Disease and how does it effect people? For tips and treats on how to live with celiac disease visit  Jennifer’s website.Jennifer’s Bakery She’s got years of experience on how to eat the gluten free way. She even helped me years  ago enjoy food again after reaching out to her via the internet. So Jennifer, I thank you for helping an Italian boy once again enjoy his Mom’s cooking without having my airway cut off….

It took me about 18 months for my body to heal from gluten intolerance. I am blessed in that respect.

It’s now time to talk to you ab221956_201607799875566_7205791_nout my family, there are Italian. The kindest person in my family would most certainly have to be my mom.  Even when I went away to college she always stocked my fridge and freezer with food. I can never thank her enough.  A week ago, I began to seek help from a dentition because I was loosing weight. She said what I already knew. Eat frequent.  So I have, I am happy to say that, my weight is no longer a concern to me. If you want to  know how amazing of a mother I have, she has stocked my fridge and freezer with food.  Some of you may be asking yourselves what does all of this have to do with the Bible? A few weeks back while I went to bed hungry, I cried out to God, and ask him why is this happening to me? He simply said in the still small voice, remember the ravens that fed the  prophet Elijah in the dessert? Worry not you will be fed…  After that night, I started listening to one band who is known for their southern gospel bluegrass sound and wouldn’t you  all know it. They sing a song titled raven’s still fly.  The song depicts Elijah’s time in the desert during a drought. Southern-Raised02

1 Kings 17King James Version (KJV)

17 And Elijah the Tishbite, who was of the inhabitants of Gilead, said unto Ahab, As the Lord God of Israel liveth, before whom I stand, there shall not be dew nor rain these years, but according to my word.

And the word of the Lord came unto him, saying,

Get thee hence, and turn thee eastward, and hide thyself by the brook Cherith, that is before Jordan.

And it shall be, that thou shalt drink of the brook; and I have commanded the ravens to feed thee there.

So he went and did according unto the word of the Lord: for he went and dwelt by the brook Cherith, that is before Jordan.

And the ravens brought him bread and flesh in the morning, and bread and flesh in the evening; and he drank of the brook.elijah-fed-by-ravens2

And it came to pass after a while, that the brook dried up, because there had been no rain in the land.

And the word of the Lord came unto him, saying,

Arise, get thee to Zarephath, which belongeth to Zidon, and dwell there: behold, I have commanded a widow woman there to sustain thee.

10 So he arose and went to Zarephath. And when he came to the gate of the city, behold, the widow woman was there gathering of sticks: and he called to her, and said, Fetch me, I pray thee, a little water in a vessel, that I may drink.

11 And as she was going to fetch it, he called to her, and said, Bring me, I pray thee, a morsel of bread in thine hand.

12 And she said, As the Lord thy God liveth, I have not a cake, but an handful of meal in a barrel, and a little oil in a cruse: and, behold, I am gathering two sticks, that I may go in and dress it for me and my son, that we may eat it, and die.

13 And Elijah said unto her, Fear not; go and do as thou hast said: but make me thereof a little cake first, and bring it unto me, and after make for thee and for thy son.

14 For thus saith the Lord God of Israel, The barrel of meal shall not waste, neither shall the cruse of oil fail, until the day that the Lordsendeth rain upon the earth.

15 And she went and did according to the saying of Elijah: and she, and he, and her house, did eat many days.GROCERY_SHOPPING_INS_400X300

16 And the barrel of meal wasted not, neither did the cruse of oil fail, according to the word of the Lord, which he spake by Elijah.

17 And it came to pass after these things, that the son of the woman, the mistress of the house, fell sick; and his sickness was so sore, that there was no breath left in him.

18 And she said unto Elijah, What have I to do with thee, O thou man of God? art thou come unto me to call my sin to remembrance, and to slay my son?

19 And he said unto her, Give me thy son. And he took him out of her bosom, and carried him up into a loft, where he abode, and laid him upon his own bed.

20 And he cried unto the Lord, and said, O Lord my God, hast thou also brought evil upon the widow with whom I sojourn, by slaying her son?

21 And he stretched himself upon the child three times, and cried unto the Lord, and said, O Lord my God, I pray thee, let this child’s soul come into him again.

22 And the Lord heard the voice of Elijah; and the soul of the child came into him again, and he revived.

23 And Elijah took the child, and brought him down out of the chamber into the house, and delivered him unto his mother: and Elijah said, See, thy son liveth.

24 And the woman said to Elijah, Now by this I know that thou art a man of God, and that the word of the Lord in thy mouth is truth.

As a Christian, I should have not looked upon the physical and should have gave God great praise for sustaining me during a time of trial.

I thought too much about the physical and I didn’t look to the Lord like I should have. That was until I got a piece of advice from my “buddy a real father in the Lord,” they said to me, keep looking to the Lord and you can be an over comer.”

That’s all that really needed to be said for me to snap into reality again and come out of the valley.  Now I have an over abundance of food and I will not go hungry all because ravens can still fly and God himself still answers prayers….

Matthew 6:25-34King James Version (KJV)

25 Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment?

26 Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they?

27 Which of you by taking thought can add one cubit unto his stature?

28 And why take ye thought for raiment? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin:

29 And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.0-FrontDoves

30 Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field, which to day is, and to morrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clothe you, O ye of little faith?

31 Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed?

32 (For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things.

33 But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.

34 Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.

versephilippians-1410908875gn48k-700x700This concludes tonight’s message on Project Bible 365 Day 20. What’s On Your Grocery List? Remember That Ravens Can Still Fly.

Leave a Reply

