Schedule Time For God

Project Bible 365 Day 56 Schedule Time For God

I have returned to the blogging world once again. I apologize for not writing to my readers earlier. I am a college student in the last few weeks of the semester and it’s just simply time to STOP, THINK and PRAY!  What I mean by that is I am going to do something bold.

I am going to come up with a schedule that I will do everything in my ability to stick by. I want to openly schedule time for God.  Now you may be wondering why I would like to schedule time for God. The reason is very simple. Even though I love my radio program and I am doing really well in it. God is telling me that even though I am a student in college I am a Christian first.

student.jpg

With this post I am in no way saying that school is bad, i am just saying that it needful to put  God first in all things.

Put God first in making the big decisions.

Put God first in making the small decisions

Make The Bible a Subject you study on your own even if the schools you attend may not always agree. The beautiful thing about studying God’s word on your own is you don’t have to talk to anybody , but rather just listen to God. The same way Samuel did as a small child.

1 Samuel 3:1-10King James Version (KJV)

And the child Samuel ministered unto the Lord before Eli. And the word of the Lord was precious in those days; there was no open vision.

And it came to pass at that time, when Eli was laid down in his place, and his eyes began to wax dim, that he could not see;

And ere the lamp of God went out in the temple of the Lord, where the ark of God was, and Samuel was laid down to sleep;

That the Lord called Samuel: and he answered, Here am I.

And he ran unto Eli, and said, Here am I; for thou calledst me. And he said, I called not; lie down again. And he went and lay down.

And the Lord called yet again, Samuel. And Samuel arose and went to Eli, and said, Here am I; for thou didst call me. And he answered, I called not, my son; lie down again.

Now Samuel did not yet know the Lord, neither was the word of the Lord yet revealed unto him.

And the Lord called Samuel again the third time. And he arose and went to Eli, and said, Here am I; for thou didst call me. And Eli perceived that the Lord had called the child.

Therefore Eli said unto Samuel, Go, lie down: and it shall be, if he call thee, that thou shalt say, Speak, Lord; for thy servant heareth. So Samuel went and lay down in his place.

10 And the Lord came, and stood, and called as at other times, Samuel, Samuel. Then Samuel answered, Speak; for thy servant heareth.

I have come to realize that in terms of education, it may mean a lot as far as the world is concerned but in the eyes of God education means very little. college-degree

An example of this would be, the pharisee known as Saul and the transformation into Paul. Sorry to burst your scholastic bubble but your education won’t get you into heaven. Your heart will.

1 Samuel 16:7King James Version (KJV)

But the Lord said unto Samuel, Look not on his countenance, or on the height of his stature; because I have refused him: for the Lord seeth not as man seeth; for man looketh on the outward appearance, but the Lord looketh on the heart.

graduationI recently read in a book this morning that it is essential to spend time with the Lord. In the book the Battles of the Mind something caught my attention because it directly spoke to my level of priorities as far my education goes. before I go into what I read, I want to make it clear that I am in no against people going to college. Education and academics is good to have but it’s not the only thing to have…..

Colossians 2:8King James Version (KJV)

Beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ.

bedHow much time do you spend with God? Some of you don’t prepare properly, you get a guilt complex during the day and say Lord i’ll pray tonight, but there you are all tired and worn out from the thoughts of the day. You’re often too tired to pray and a tired is in no condition to reach for the things of God. You may get up on your bed and say to Lord, you won’t mind if I lay down on my bed and pray to you.. You start to pray but your body and mind are so tired, soon the Lord hears your snores instead of your prayers. “You may say to yourself well at least I went to sleep, that’s true. However you’re probably having a nightmare. You need to go to sleep God’s way… Go to sleep in peace, dwell on the words of God to put your mind at ease.  – This thought from the Battles of Mind book has been paraphrased and does not match up with the text word for word.

 

beware-lest-any-man-spoil-you-through-philosophy-and-vain-deceit

 

This concludes Project Bible 365 Day 56 Schedule Time For God.

Leave a Reply

